Recent Comments

Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga

The word Hatha is composed of two words : Ha + Tha.
“Ha” is symbolic of the Surya Nadi (Sun Vein, male energy/aspect)
“Tha” is symbolic of the Chandra Nadi (Moon Vein, female energy/aspect)

Hence Ha-Tha Yoga is the practice of activating and balancing the male and female energies within a human being. Ha-Tha Yoga path is for one who wants to become independent in himself for his spiritual growth. (While in Tantra you take help of external for male female balancing). In modern world terms, you can say balancing opposite side of ones physicality and mentality.

Ha-tha Yoga works on the principle that your
“Physiology and Psychology are connected things.
(You can say, your physical body and soul)

If you “consciously” put the physiological aspect of you in right shape, then that consciousness towards the physical body, automatically clears the ignorance towards mental body. So Ha-tha yoga starts with more physical means for increasing consciousness.

The Authentic ancient spiritual texts on this subjects are works like “Hatha Yoga Pradipika”, “Gherand Samhita”.

Please note: Hatha Yoga as a 7 Step Path is similar but different from Raj Yoga’s 8 fold path… The utmost beauty of Ha-tha Yoga is, that is starts from totally physical side. You don’t need to start by forcefully adopting some prior belief system or whatever. You can just practice, test it… experience it and believe it!

As per “Gherand Samhita”,

Ha-tha Yoga is a “Sapt-ang Path” meaning a “Seven Fold Path” with following parts in order :

 1) Yogic Shatkarma
(The Six Yogic Cleansing Acts)

Hatha Yoga starts with cleansing of physical body. First the gross impurities of the physical body needs to be cleansed, only after that the subtle impurities of mind and soul can be cleansed.

1-1) Neti
(The Ultimate Nose Sinus Cleansing by Saline Water and/or cotton cloth or pipe)

1-2) Dhauti
(Throat Food Pipe and Stomach Cleansing)

1-3) Nauli
(Abdominal Corrugation – Removes Stomach Rectum Sexual Digestions Ailments)

1-4) Basti
(Intestinal Cleansing by voluntary Natural Enema)

1-5) Kapalbhati ——– (The Cranial Cleansing, of Skull, Nose and Pharynx and Trachea=Wind Pipe)

1- 6) Tratak ——- (The Cleansing of Chitt/Subconscious Mind by Focusing Eyes)


 2) Asana

In Ha-tha Yoga, Asana literally means Body Posture.

Learn to make body strong, flexible, free of diseases and pains and increase immunity.
Attain strength, speed, stamina, resistance to diseases.
As they say, a healthy mind resides in a Healthy body.

Although there are 84 million Asanas (as many as number of Yoni (here meaning species) in the world, and there is posture for every species.

Still, 84 are highlighted in Gherand Samhita, out of that 32 important, even out of that 15 are very important
And for long sadhna, 4 are said to be very important. — (Siddhasan, Padmasan, Vajrasana Bhadrasan)

This brings Sturdiness in body, for daily health as well as stamina for long meditation, spiritual practice sessions.


3) Mudra

Although Mudra also literally means posture, but it is different from Asana as in Mudra aim is not making some body structure stronger/healthier or to establish sitting comfort.

Infact Mudra is done after Asan, as here we rather focus prana and mind at specific posture.

This brings Stability, of body and then mental thought flow.

The famous ones in Hatha Yoga are like are like Vipreetkarni, Shakti Chalini, Vajrauli, Mahavedha, Shambhavi etc.


 4) Pranayam

This literally means “Prana=life force Control” by the breathing exercises.

On physical level, breathing does make the lungs stronger and at prana level, increases total energy flow in body (so yes mere breathing by lungs benefits whole body, even your toes or brain veins, back etc)

But its main goal is the psycological, mental harmonising. It is an age old and fail proof saying that your breathing defines your thinking! Hence making breath deep and relaxed is must to be able to get control of mind anyway.

This makes your body and mind light. opens up the blockage in veins and starts process of mental harmony by regulating breath.


 5) Pratyahar

This means “Withdrawal” of things from mind, it is the starting point of meditation.

Think about it, like in order to hold something by hand… first you need to empty your hand of other things right? Same way, to be able to hold object of meditation, first one has to “Let Go” of needless thoughts in mind,

And it is a relentless fact, letting go provides focus… and persistent with focus gives success in every task in life!

The result of this is increase your Patience (Dhairya). Many things which totally took you off mood or temper earlier, later feel nothing.


6) Dhyan

This is the starting point of becoming Self Viewer as you see your own chakras thoughts. And later one starts to feel single pointed connection with the observation.

7) Samadhi

The last stage is the state of self dissolution, the practitioner feels just one inside and out… experiences a state of a cosmic union… as him actually being the Infinite universe itself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *